Academic Calendar

Academic Calendar

Download the Academic Calendar 2020-21 (PDF file—use this link to download Adobe Reader if needed.)
Download the Academic Calendar 2021-22

View the campus events calendar

SPRING 2021

Administrative Office open for spring semester Monday, January 4
Online J term (January) begins Wednesday, January 6
J term Last day to add Wednesday, January 6
J Term (January) Last Day to Drop Friday, January 8
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Special Events / Classes Suspended Monday, January 18
J Term Last day to withdraw from a class with grade of “W” Tuesday, January 19
Online J term (January) ends Tuesday, January 26
J Term Final Grades due 5:00 p.m. Thursday, January 28
Residence Halls open for First Year & Transfer Students Saturday, January 30
First Year & Transfer Lion’s Roar Saturday, January 30
Residence Halls open for Registered Continuing Students Sunday, January 31
Schedule Adjustments & Advising Monday, February 1
Block 1 & Full Semester Classes begin at 8 a.m. Tuesday, February 2
Block 1 & Full Semester Last day for add/drop, Internship Applications ** Monday, February 8
Last day for removing “I” Grades from 2020 Fall Monday, February 15
Mid-term grades due Block 1, 5:00 p.m. Thursday, February 25
Spring Lion Fest Saturday, February 27
Last day to apply for graduation in May or August Monday, March 1
Block 1 Last day to withdraw from a class with grade of “W” Tuesday, March 2
Block 1 & Full Semester Deadline for Juniors/Seniors to indicate S/U grade opt Tuesday, March 2
Block 1 Last day of classes Friday, March 19
Block 2 Classes begin 8:00 a.m. Monday, March 22
Full semester mid-term grades due, 5:00 p.m. Wednesday, March 24
Majors & Minors Fair Thursday, March 25
Block 1 Final Grades posted by Faculty 5:00 p.m. Friday, March 26
Accepted Student Visit Day – Spring Saturday, March 27
Summer / Fall Registration Opens Monday, March 29
Block 2 Last day for add/drop Monday, March 29
Good Friday Holiday Friday, April 2
Local Lion Visit Day Saturday, April 3
Full Term – Last day to withdraw from a class with grade of “W” Tuesday, April 6
SLAM – Student Liberal Arts Mosaic Tuesday, April 13
Mid-term grades due Block 2, 5:00 p.m. Thursday, April 15
Lion Life Saturday, April 17
Block 2 Last day to withdraw from a class with grade of “W” Tuesday, April 20
Block 2 Deadline for Juniors/Seniors to indicate S/U grade option Tuesday, April 20
Block 2 & Full Semester Last day of classes Friday, May 7
Residence Halls close 5:00 p.m. Monday, May 10
Block 2 & Full Semester Final Grades posted by faculty  8:00 a.m. Tuesday, May 11
Degrees Conferred Saturday, May 15
Lion Life Saturday, May 22
Memorial Day Holiday Monday, May 31

**To maintain full-time status for the semester, students must be enrolled for a minimum of 12 credit hours. AGS short term classes will meet with the Block 1 & 2 dates

Summer 2021

Memorial Day Observed Monday, May 31
Short Term 1 and Full Term Classes Start Tuesday, June 1
Last day to Add a Full Term or Term 1 Class Thursday, June 3
Last day to Drop a Full Term or Term 1 Class Friday, June 4
Term 1 Ends Saturday, July 3
Independence Day Observed – University Holiday Monday, July 5
Summer Short Term 2 Starts Tuesday, July 6
Term 1 Final Grades Due 5:00p.m. Wednesday, July 7
Last Day to Add a Term 2 Class Thursday, July 8
Last Day to Drop a Term 2 Class Friday, July 9
Lion Life Saturday, July 10
Term 2 and Full Term Ends Saturday, August 7
All Final Summer Grades Due 8:00 a.m. Wednesday, August 11
Degrees Conferred Thursday, August 12

 

2021 Late Summer (LSU) Session
Master of Management

MM Online Cohort begins – LSU Term 1 Tuesday, July 6
Last day to Add – LSU Term 1 Thursday, July 8
Last day to Drop – LSU Term 1 Friday, July 9
LSU Term 1 Ends Saturday, August 7
MM Seated Cohort begins & LSU Online Term 2 Starts Monday, August 9
Last day to Add – LSU Term 2 Thursday, August 12
Last day to Drop – LSU Term 2 Friday, August 13
LSU Term 2 Ends Saturday, August 28
LSU Final Grades Due 5:00 p.m. Wednesday September 1

 

2021 Fall Semester

Faculty Workshop Aug 23-24
Residence Halls open for First Year & Transfer Students Wednesday, August 25
First Year & Transfer Lion’s Roar Aug 25 – 29
Residence Halls open for Registered Continuing Students Aug 28 – 29
Full Semester & Block 1 Classes Start 8:00 a.m. Monday, August 30
Full Semester & Block 1 Last day for add/drop,** and Internship Applications Monday, September 6
Fall Lionfest Visit Day Saturday, September 25
Last day to remove “I” Grades from 2021 SP & SU Monday, September 27
Block 1 Mid-term grades due 8:00 a.m. Monday, September 27
Block 1 Last day to withdraw from a class with grade of “W” Thursday, September 30
Last day to apply for graduation in December Friday, October 1
Bascom Lamar Lunsford & Madison County Heritage Festivals Saturday, October 2
Homecoming, Alumni Day Saturday, October 9
Block 1 Classes End Friday, October 15
Fall Break Begins Saturday, October 16
Fall Break Ends and Full Semester Classes resume, 8 a.m. Wednesday, October 20
Block 2 Classes Start 8:00 a.m. Wednesday, October 20
Local Lion & Tennessee Neighbor Promise Visit Day Friday, October 22
Block 1 Final Grades posted by Faculty 8:00 a.m. Monday, October 25
Block 2 Last day for add/drop ** Wednesday, October 27
Full semester mid-term grades due, 8:00 a.m. Thursday, October 28
Spring Registration Opens Monday, November 1
Full semester Last day to withdraw from a class with grade of “W” ** Tuesday, November 2
Block 2 Mid-term grades due, 8:00 a.m. Wednesday, November 17
Senior Visit Day Saturday, November 20
Block 2 Last day to withdraw from a class with grade of “W” Monday, November 22
Thanksgiving holidays begin Admin Offices Close 5:00 p.m. Tuesday, November 23
Classes Resume/Offices reopen at 8:00 a.m. Monday, November 29
Full Semester and Block 2 Classes End Friday, December 10
Block 2 & Full Semester Final Grades posted by faculty 8:00 a.m. Wednesday, December 15
Graduation Exercises – Degrees Conferred 3:00 p.m. Friday, December 17
University Offices Close for Holidays – end of day Friday, December 17

 

2022 Spring Semester

Residence Halls Open for J Term (if face-to-face classes) Monday, January 3
J Term (January) Classes Start, Administrative Offices Open for Spring Semester Tuesday, January 4
J Term (January) Last Day to Add Tuesday, January 4
J Term Last Day to Drop Friday, January 7
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Special Events / Classes Suspended Monday, January 17
J Term last day for class withdrawal with grade of “W” ** Tuesday, January 18
J term (January) Classes End Tuesday, January 25
Residence Halls open for New Students Thursday, January 27
Lion’s Roar Friday, January 28
J Term Final Grades due 8:00 a.m. Friday, January 28
Residence Halls open for Registered Continuing Students Jan. 29-30
Full Semester & AGS Term 1 Classes Start at 8 a.m. Monday, January 31
Last day to drop student for non-attendance ** Friday, February 4
AGS Term 1 last day to Add Friday, February 4
AGS Term 1 last day to Drop Monday, February 7
Full semester last day to Add & Internship Applications deadline Monday, February 7
Choral Festival Fri.-Sat., Feb. 18-19
Full Semester Last day to drop ** & Last day to remove “I” Grades from 2021 Fall Monday, February 21
Majors & Minors Fair Thursday, February 24
Accepted Student Visit Day Saturday, February 26
Last day to apply for graduation in May or August Tuesday, March 1
Mid-term evaluation week Mar. 7-11
Full semester Mid-term grades due, 8:00 a.m. Wednesday, March 16
Local Lion & Tennessee Neighbor Visit Day Thursday, March 17
AGS Term 1 Classes End Friday, March 18
Spring Break begins Saturday, March 19
Administrative Offices reopen after spring break Wednesday, March 23
Classes Resume After Spring Break 8:00 a.m. & AGS Term 2 classes Start Monday, March 28
AGS Term 1 Final Grades due 8:00 a.m. Tuesday, March 29
Full Term – Last day to withdraw from a class with grade of “W” ** Wednesday, March 30
AGS term 2 last day to Add Thursday, March 31
AGS term 2 last day to Drop Monday, April 4
Summer / Fall Registration Opens Monday, April 4
Good Friday – classes suspended, University Holiday Friday, April 15
Full semester deadline for Juniors/Seniors to indicate S/U grade option Friday, April 22
Spring Lionfest Visit Day Saturday, April 23
Lion Life Saturday, April 30
SLAM – Student Liberal Arts Mosaic – Classes Suspended Tuesday, May 3
Last Day of Classes Tuesday, May 17
Residence Halls close Wednesday, May 18
Term 2 & Full Semester Final Grades posted by 8:00 a.m. Thursday, May 19
Graduation Exercises – Degrees Conferred Saturday, May 21
Faculty In-service Days May 19-27
Memorial Day Observed – University Holiday Monday, May 30

 

Previous Academic Calendars:

Lions Covid Safety Guidelines