Academic Calendar

Download the 2017-18 academic calendar (PDF file—use this link to download Adobe Reader if needed.) 

Fall 2017

 
AGS First Short Term Begins & New/Late Registration in AGS office Monday, August 14
Faculty Workshop begins Monday, August 14
Residence Halls open for new freshmen & transfers/Orientation begins Friday, August 18
Residence Halls open for registered continuing students Sunday, August 20
Registration & Clearance of Stops Monday, August 21
Traditional classes begin at 8am Tuesday, August 22
Fall Opening Convocation Tuesday, August 22
Last day for faculty to drop a student from class for non-attendance Friday, August 25
Last day for registration, schedule adjustment, internship applications Monday, August 28
Schedule Drop Period Tuesday, August 29 - Monday, September 18
Last day for dropping a class without transcript entry; removing "I" grades Monday, September 18
Bascom Lamar Lunsford Festival and Madison County Heritage Festival Saturday, October 7
Last day to apply for graduation in December Monday, October 2
Homecoming Saturday, October 21
Mid-Semester Evaluation Week Monday, October 2 - Friday, October 6
AGS second short term begins Monday, October 16
Founders Week Monday, October 9 - Friday, October 13
Mid-semester evaluations due Wednesday, October 11
Fall Break begins at end of classes Friday, October 13
Fall Break ends/classes resume at 8am Wednesday, October 18
Last day to withdraw from class with grade of "W" Thursday, October 20
Spring Registration Monday, October 30 - Friday, November 3
Deadline for juniors/seniors to indicate S/U grade option Friday, November 3
Thanksgiving holidays begin at close of classes Tuesday, November 21
Administrative offices close at noon for Thanksgiving holidays Wednesday, November 22
Classes resume/office reopen at 8am Monday, November 27
Last day of regular classes Tuesday, December 5
Regular day & evening exams begin Wednesday, December 6
Examinations end (Christmas holidays begin; residence halls close) Tuesday, December 12
Final grades posted by faculty Thursday, December 14
Graduation exercises (residence halls close for graduates) Friday, December 15
Administrative offices close for Christmas holidays Friday, December 15
Administrative offices open for spring semster Tuesday, January 3, 2017

Spring 2018

 
AGS First Short Term Begins & New/Late Registration in AGS office Tuesday, January 2
Residence Halls open for New Freshmen & Transfers/Orientation Begins Saturday, January 13
Residence Halls open for Registered Continuing Students Sunday, January 14
Registration & Clearance of Stops Monday, January 15
Traditional Classes begin at 8 a.m. Tuesday, January 16
Last day for faculty to drop a student from class for non-attendance Friday, January 19
Last day for registration, schedule adjustment, Internship Applications Monday, January 22
Schedule Drop Period Tuesday, January 23 - Tuesday, February 12
Choral Festival Friday, February 3 - Saturday, February 4
Last day for dropping a class without transcript entry; removing “I” Grades Tuesday, February 12
Mid-Semester Evaluation Week Monday, February 26 - Friday, March 2
Last day to apply for graduation in May or August Thursday, March 1
AGS Second Short-term begins Monday, March 5
Mid-Semester Evaluations due Wednesday, March 7
Spring Break Begins at end of classes Friday, March 9
Administrative Offices reopen after spring break Wednesday, March 14
Spring Break Ends and Classes resume, 8 a.m. Monday, March 19
Last day to withdraw from a class with grade of “W” Tuesday, March 20
Fall Registration Monday, April 2 - Friday, April 6
SLAM Wednesday, April 10
Deadline for Juniors/Seniors to indicate S/U grade option Friday, April 13
Good Friday Holiday Friday, March 30
Last day of regular classes Thursday, May 3
Regular day & evening exams begin Friday, May 4
Examinations end; Residence Halls close Wednesday, May 9
Final Grades posted by faculty Thursday, May 10
Graduation Exercises, Residence Halls close for graduates Saturday, May 12