Natural Sciences Faculty

Ms. Laura Boggess
Instructor of Biology
Phone: (828) 689-1157
Email: lboggess@mhu.edu

Dr. Michelle Gilley
Assistant Professor of Human Biology
Office: Wall 322
Phone: (828) 689-1404
Email: mgilley@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6671
Education: B.S., Auburn University, 1995; M.S., Memphis University, 2002; Ph.D., Auburn University, 2013.

Dr. Ryan Hefti
Assistant Professor of Chemistry/Physics
Office: Ferguson 241
Phone: (828) 689-1118
Email: rhefti@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6679
Education: B.A., Lawrence University, 1999; Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Charlotte, 2013.

Dr. Amanda Knapp
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Office: Ferguson 239
Phone: (828) 689-1403
Email: aknapp@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6679
Education: B.S., Xavier University, 2006; Ph.D., The University of Akron, 2011.

Dr. Matthew Milnes
Associate Professor of Biology
Office: Wall 320
Phone: (828) 689-1322
Email: mmilnes@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6671
Education: B.S., University of Florida, 1996; Ph.D., University of Florida, 2005.

Dr. Meredith Newman
Professor of Chemistry
Office: Ferguson 238
Phone: (828) 689-1401
Email: mnewman@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6679
Website
Education: B.S., Southern College of SDA, 1981; M.S., Clemson University, 1985; Ph.D., Clemson University, 1990

Dr. Scott Pearson
Professor of Biology; Chair of the Division of Mathematics and Natural Sciences
Office: Wall 321
Phone: (828) 689-1402
Email: spearson@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6671
Website
Education: B.S., Mars Hill College, 1984; M.S., University of Georgia, 1987; Ph.D., University of Georgia, 1991; Oak Ridge National Laboratory, 1991-93.

Dr. Andrea Rockel Rose 
Associate Professor of Biology and Department Chair
Office: Wall 315
Phone: (828) 689-1424
Email: arockel@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6671
Education: B.S., Mars Hill College, 2002; Ph.D., Wake Forest University, 2008.

Dr. Kinta Serve
Assistant Professor of Biology
Office: Wall 312
Phone: (828) 689-1283
Email: kserve@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6671
Education: B.S., Colorado Mesa University, 2005; M.S., Washington State University, 2010; D.A., Idaho State University, 2013.

Dr. Nicole Soper Gorden
Assistant Professor of Biology/Botany
Office: Wall 314
Phone: (828) 689-1291
Email: nsopergorden@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6671
Education: B.A. Biology and English, Gustavus Adolphus College, 2007; Ph.D. Plant Biology, University of Massachusetts at Amherst, 2013.

Ms. Jennifer Torgerson
Instructor of Biology
Office: Ferguson 240
Phone: (828) 689-1330
Email: jtorgerson@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6671
Education: B.A., Berea College, 2004; M.A., Western Carolina University, 2012.