Board of Trustees

Management of the university is legally vested in the Board of Trustees, a self-perpetuating board elected by majority vote from nominees submitted by the Trusteeship Committee of the board. The board delegates authority to the president of the university for the operation of the total university program in keeping with established procedures and policies, and the president is the official liaison between the university and the board.

The board approves all major policy decisions, adopts the official budgets of the university, and passes on other major matters of university business. Much of the work is done through committees, but the full board has regularly scheduled meetings at least three times a year.

Current Officers

Chair: W. Wayne Higgins, Weaverville, NC
Vice-Chair: Linda Judge-McRae, Knoxville, NC
Treasurer: Gwen Davis, Raleigh, NC
Secretary: David Costner, Leicester, NC


Terms Expire December 31, 2018

Ronald O. Brown, Asheville, NC
Michael Cranford, Fuquay Varina, NC
J. Dixon Free, Lincolnton, NC
W.Wayne Higgins, Weaverville, NC
Eugene Holdway, Greer, SC
Magay Shepard, Charlotte, NC
B. Jane Winn, Charlotte, NC

Terms Expire December 31, 2019

Doug Buchanan, Cary, NC
Ruth Parham, Fall Branch, TN
David Costner, Leicester, NC
Brent Townsend, Tyron, GA
Jean S. Freeman, Charlotte, NC
Charles Trammell, Memphis, TN
Harold H. “Bud” Hughes, Candler, NC
Jim Wilson, Greensboro, NC
Carole Martin, Asheville, NC

Terms Expire December 31, 2020

Bruce Boyles, Kings Mountain, NC
A.C. Honeycutt, Jr., Mars Hill, NC
Max Burgin, Ellenboro, NC
Bill Murdock, Arden, NC
Kyle Carver, Leicester, NC
Jeremy Pressley, Canton, NC
Gwen Davis, Raleigh, NC
Mary Dawson, Abingdon, VA

Terms Expire December 31, 2021

John Ayers, Fayetteville, NC
Mike Groce, Newton, NC
Mike Kelly, Mason, OH
Eric Mann, Jacksonville, FL
Linda Judge-McRae, Knoxville, TN
Cheryl Pappas, Charlotte, NC