Board of Advisors

This board was established in 1967 by the Board of Trustees to assist the university in the achievement of long-range goals. By consulting with the president of the university and the trustees, advisors add variety, strength and experience to the administrative structure of the university. The board is comprised of interested persons—both alumni and friends of the university—of various Christian faiths and from several states. The board has been helpful in fund-raising, student recruitment, long-range planning, and general public relations. Its recommendations are channeled  through the Board of Trustees, which remains the official policy-making body of the university.

Chair: Rodney Johnson ’72

Term Expires December 31, 2019

Doug Echols ’67, Rock Hill, SC
John Hough, Jr. ’55, Mars Hill, NC
Rodney Johnson ’72, Arlington, VA
Larry Leake, Mars Hill, NC
Matthew Miller ’86, Arlington,  VA
Bob Robinson ’56, Asheville, NC
Beverly Snowden ’74, Granite Falls, NC

Term Expires December 31, 2020

Peter Alexander ’94 West Hollywood, CA
Doris Bentley ’56, Morganton, NC
Michael Bloodworth ’83, Lawrenceville, GA
Larry Burda, Mars Hill, NC
Leslie Johnson ’67, Bluffton, SC
Troy Parham ’66, Falls Branch, TN
Malcolm Privette ’67 Gainesville, FL
Mike Pressley ’69, Hendersonville, NC
Paul “Woody” Sprouse ’80, Mt. Pleasant, SC

Term Expires December 31, 2021

Robert Chenman ‘71, Virginia Beach, VA
Bruce DeWeese ‘74, Asheville, NC
Susan Gurganus ’75, Raleigh, NC
Tommy Hornick ‘99, Indian Trail, NC
Paula Kahn ‘79, Bristol, VA
Biljana Kroll ’04, Asheville, NC
David McFee ‘70, Asheville, NC
Chris Pappas ‘66, Charlotte, NC
Paul Powell ’79, Greensboro, NC
Marilyn Que Tucker ‘74, Morrisville, NC
John Winkenwerder ’81, Asheville, NC

Term expires December 31, 2022

Amanda Beatty ’02, Stanley, NC
Joseph Bland ’03, Raleigh, NC
Ann Bingham, Canton, GA
Tim Clark, Mars Hill, NC
Danny Fusco ’99, Weaverville, NC
Virginia Henderson, ’79, Ft. Myers, FL
Austin Lee ‘03 Atlanta, GA
Julie Morrow ’89 Mooresville, NC
Anna Renfro ‘79, Gastonia, NC
Luther Rickenbaker III ‘67, Spartanburg, SC
Charles Pond ’67, Smithfield, VA