Mars Hill University Inducts Members of Alpha Chi Honor Society

Mars Hill University recently inducted eight new members into the Alpha Chi National College Honor Society. The installation also included the installation of new officers for the 2021-2022 academic year.

The ceremony took place in the university fellowship hall, with some inductees present in person, and some present online.

Mars Hill’s chapter, North Carolina Epsilon Chapter 120, was formed in 1971. Members of the honor society must be juniors and seniors with grade point averages in the top 10 percent of the student body. In all, Alpha Chi has more than 400,000 members across more than 300 college and university chapters.

Logan Gunn, President
Virginia Joy, Vice President
Kelly Jakaitis, Secretary
William Brawley, Treasurer

Claudia Chandler
Elizabeth Sharnel Friedrich
Logan Gunn
Kari Jackson
Emily Kraft
Chloe Metcalf
Ciara Mitchell
Jordan Schmucker

Keynote speaker was Joanna Pierce, professor of English and dean of Arts and Sciences. Faculty advisor for the organization is Laura Steil, associate professor of mathematics.