CSCAA Recognizes Mars Hill for Academics

The College Swimming and Diving Coaches Association (CSCAA) has named the Mars Hill University men’s and women’s swimming teams to its Scholar All-America team for the Spring 2019 Semester.  A record 480 institutions were named to the list, highlighted by St. Andrews’s women’s GPA of 3.35.

CSCAA Executive Director Greg Earhart noted: “Coach Guyer has built a program that is a model of success in the pool and classroom.”

A record number of teams achieved Scholar All-America status in each NCAA Division with men’s teams seeing the biggest gains.  The increase can be attributed to the growing number of men’s teams.  “For three years now, we’ve seen schools add more men’s teams than women’s,” explained Earhart, “and now we’re seeing those new teams produce the caliber of student-athlete we’ve come to expect in swimming and diving.”

At 3.45, the median GPA among women’s teams was the highest on record.  The men’s median (3.23) was down slightly from the Fall semester.

For the third time in its history Emmanuel College led all Division II programs, earning a 3.80 for the Semester and making head coach Allen Gilchest proud.  “Our women continue to represent Emmanuel in the pool and the classroom in a positive and professional way with hard work and dedication to their teammates and college. I am proud and amazed by them.”  The Bluegrass Mountain Conference placed nine teams on the honor roll, one more than the Great Lakes Valley Conference.  In total, eighty-three teams met the mark, four more than last Fall’s record of seventy-nine.

The University of Bridgeport, led the men’s Division II rankings for the second-consecutive semester.  Regrettably, the Purple Knights won’t be able to go for a third as the University eliminated swimming following this year’s NCAA Championships.  “With the program being dropped  this past season,” explained head coach Doc Ludemann, “I am extremely excited for our athletes. This is certainly a special honor”.  In total, fifty-three mens teams were selected and like the women, the Bluegrass Mountain Conference led the way with nine selections, one more than the GLVC.

The CSCAA will announce its individual Scholar All-Americans next week.

About the CSCAA
Founded in 1922, the College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) – the first organization of college coaches in America – is a professional organization of college swimming and diving coaches dedicated to serving and providing leadership for the advancement of the sport of swimming & diving at the collegiate level.

Women’s Teams

3.35 Adelphi Robert Smith
3.22 Alaska-Fairbanks Scott Lemley
3.24 Ashland Ron Allen
3.23 Assumption Stuart Cromarty
3.32 Augustana (SD) Lindsie Micko
3.40 Azusa Pacific Tim Kyle
3.22 Barton Tyler Ziegler
3.52 Bentley Mary Kay Samko
3.55 Biola Ryan Kauth
3.28 Bridgeport Richard Ludemann
3.35 Cal State East Bay Shane Pelton
3.48 Cal U – PA Ed Denny
3.57 Carson-Newman jordan taylor
3.35 Chowan Matt Hood
3.61 Clarion Brehan Kelley
3.39 Colorado Mesa Geoff Hanson
3.36 Concordia-Irvine Albert (Bert) Bergen
3.07 Converse Kristina Henkel
3.04 CSU-Pueblo Brian Pearson
3.57 Davenport Justin Vasquez
3.54 Delta State Dan’l Murray
3.40 Dixie State Tamber McAllister
3.52 Drury Brian Reynolds
3.35 Edinboro Chris Rhodes
3.80 Emmanuel Allen Gilchrest
3.48 Fairmont State Patrick Snively
3.55 Findlay Andrew Makepeace
3.49 Florida Southern Andy Robins
3.45 Florida Tech David Dent
3.22 Fresno Pacific Katelyne Herrington
3.77 Gannon Darren Suroviec
3.47 Grand Valley Andrew Boyce
3.23 Henderson State William Matthews
3.41 Hillsdale Kurt Kirner
3.41 Indiana (PA) Chris Villa
3.69 Indianapolis Jason Hite
3.58 King (TN) James Graves
3.40 Kutztown Tim Flannery
3.76 Lenoir-Rhyne Paul Schiffel
3.29 Lewis Roger Karns
3.56 Lindenwood Jason Owen
3.69 LIU Post Kristen Foley
3.51 Lynn Niki Alvarez
3.14 Mars Hill Teddy Guyer
3.45 Mary Allan McCallum
3.69 Maryville Erica Rose
3.46 McKendree Jimmy Tierney
3.43 Merrimack Erin Cammann
3.38 Mines Nate Rothman
3.45 Minnesota State Nathan Owens
3.63 MN-Moorhead Charlie King
3.36 Northern Michigan Heidi Voigt
3.38 Northern State Nicole Monanian
3.54 Nova Southeastern Ben Hewitt
3.07 Oklahoma Christian Josh Davis
3.44 Ouachita Baptist Steven Bostick
3.71 Pace Alexis Chocinowski
3.63 Queens (NC) Jeff Dugdale
3.59 Roberts Wesleyan Sara Smith
3.47 Rollins Kyle Berg
3.32 Saginaw State Bruce Zimmerman
3.51 Saint Cloud Jeff Hegle
3.45 Saint Leo Paul Mangen
3.72 Saint Michael’s Eileen Hall
3.40 Saint Rose Keith Murray
3.81 Salem Rick Johnson
3.20 Shippensburg Tim Verge
3.47 Sioux Falls Chris Hamstra
3.39 Southern Conn Tim Quill
3.37 Tampa Jimi Kiner
3.24 Tiffin Lukas Jachno
3.54 Truman State Jerod Simek
3.38 UC San Diego Dave Marsh
3.62 UMSL Tony Hernandez
3.62 Urbana Cassandra Wendall
3.12 UT-PB Cameron Kainer
3.60 Wayne State Sean Peters
3.54 West Chester Steve Mazurek
3.55 West Florida Philip Kraus
3.34 WV Wesleyan April Gitzen
3.19 Western State Erik Matheson
3.60 William Jewell Dan Szuba
3.46 Wingate Kirk Sanocki

Men’s Teams

3.22 Ashland Ron Allen
3.07 Barton Tyler Ziegler
3.28 Bentley Mary Kay Samko
3.23 Biola Ryan Kauth
3.67 Bridgeport Richard Ludemann
3.26 Carson-Newman jordan taylor
3.14 Chowan Matt Hood
3.14 Colorado Mesa Geoff Hanson
3.41 Concordia-Irvine Albert (Bert) Bergen
3.15 Delta State Dan’l Murray
3.15 Drury Brian Reynolds
3.16 Edinboro Chris Rhodes
3.14 Emmanuel Allen Gilchrest
3.39 Fairmont State Patrick Snively
3.34 Findlay Andrew Makepeace
3.43 Florida Southern Andy Robins
3.39 Florida Tech David Dent
3.00 Fresno Pacific Katelyne Herrington
3.33 Gannon Darren Suroviec
3.07 Grand Valley Andrew Boyce
3.04 Henderson State William Matthews
3.45 Indianapolis Jason Hite
3.21 King (TN) James Graves
3.26 Lenoir-Rhyne Paul Schiffel
3.24 Lewis Roger Karns
3.41 Lindenwood Jason Owen
3.02 Mars Hill Teddy Guyer
3.39 Maryville Erica Rose
3.26 McKendree Jimmy Tierney
3.52 Mines Nate Rothman
3.19 Missouri S&T Doug Grooms
3.47 Northern Michigan Heidi Voigt
3.54 Nova Southeastern Ben Hewitt
3.37 Pace Alexis Chocinowski
3.25 Queens (NC) Jeff Dugdale
3.73 Roberts Wesleyan Sara Smith
3.36 Rollins Kyle Berg
3.19 Saginaw Valley State Bruce Zimmerman
3.20 Saint Leo Paul Mangen
3.30 Saint Michael’s Eileen Hall
3.44 Salem Rick Johnson
3.14 Shippensburg Tim Verge
3.30 Tampa Jimi Kiner
3.09 Tiffin Lukas Jachno
3.15 UC San Diego Dave Marsh
3.15 UMSL Tony Hernandez
3.44 Urbana Cassandra Wendall
3.13 Wayne State Sean Peters
3.30 West Chester Steve Mazurek
3.17 WV Wesleyan April Gitzen
3.27 William Jewell Dan Szuba
3.40 Wingate Kirk Sanocki