Mathematics & Computer Science Faculty

Mr. Philip Carroll
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Office: 406 Wall Science Bldg.
Phone: (828) 689-1421
Email: pcarroll@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6691
Education: B.S., High Point University, 2000; M.A., Wake Forest University, 2002, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University 2002-2007

Mr. Michael Kennedy
Instructor of MathematicsMath01
Office: Wall 407
Phone: (828) 689-1425
Email: mkennedy@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6691
Education: B.A., SUNY at Plattsburgh, 1969; M.S., University of Vermont, 1974

Mr. Marty Gilbert
Instructional Technologist and Assistant Professor of Computer Science
Office: Ferguson 141
Phone: (828) 689-1195
Email: mgilbert@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6691
Education: B.S., Mars Hill College, 1999; M.S., Duke University, 2002

Mr. Stefen Howard
Assistant Professor of Computer Science
Office: Ferguson 143
Phone: (828) 689-1323
Email: showard@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6691
Education: B.A., Guilford College, 1989; M.S., University of Tennessee at Knoxville, 1998; Clemson University, 2002-05

Mrs. Kerri Jamerson
Instructor of Mathematics
Office: 405 Wall Science Bldg.
Phone: (828) 689-1424
Email: kjamerson@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6691
Education: B.S., Mars Hill College, 1998; M.S., Western Carolina University, 1999

Mrs. Jennifer Rhinehart
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Office: 403 Wall Science Bldg.
Phone: (828) 689-1453
Email: jrhinehart@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6691
Education: B.S., Mars Hill College, 1997; M.S., North Carolina State University, 1999

Dr. Don Russell
Professor of Mathematics
Office: 404 Wall Science Bldg.
Phone: (828) 689-1207/1144
Email: drussell@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6691
Education: B.S., Clemson University, 1966; M.S., Clemson University, 1969; Ph.D., Clemson University, 1973; Memphis State University, 1981; Clemson University, 1982; James Madison University, 1983; Central Oklahoma State University, 1983, 1984

Ms. Misty Silver
Instructor of Mathematics
Office: 409 Wall Science Bldg.
Phone: (828) 689-1451
Email: msilver@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6691
Education: B.S., Mars Hill College, 2008; M.A., Appalachian State University, 2010

Dr. Laura Steil
Associate Professor of Mathematics and Department Chair
Office: 408 Wall Science Bldg
Phone: (828) 689-1168
Email: lsteil@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6691
Education: B.S., Samford University, 2005; M.A., University of Kentucky at Lexington, 2008; Ph.D., University of Kentucky at Lexington, 2011.