Faculty

Phyllis Smith, Ph.D.
Professor of History
psmith@mhu.edu; 828-689-1133; Cornwell 321History Profs

Lucia Carter, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of History
Department Chair
lcarter@mhu.edu; 828-689-1199; Cornwell 320

John Gripentrog, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of History
jgripentrog@mhu.edu; 828-689-1116; Cornwell 319

David Gilbert, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of History
dgilbert@mhu.edu; 828-689-1117; Cornwell 317

Polly Johnson, M.Ed.
Instructor of History
Coordinator of Secondary Education, Social Studies
pjohnson@mhu.edu; 828-689-1366; Cornwell 324

Patrick Cash M.A.
Instructor of History
Coordinator of Public History Program
pcash@mhu.edu; 828-689-1581; Renfro 205