Art Faculty

Dr. Rick Cary
Dean, Fine Arts
Professor of Art
Office: 307 Moore
Phone: (828) 689-1396
Email: rcary@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6651
Education: B.A., University of Tennessee, 1969; M.S., University of Tennessee, 1974; M.A., Goddard College 1980; Master Class, Maine Photographic Workshop, 1983; Ph.D. University of Tennessee, 1991; School of the Art Institute of Chicago, 1993; Stanford University
www.rickcaryart.com  

Dr. Barbara Cary
Director of Art Education
Office: 306 Nash
Phone: (828) 689-1364
Email: bcary@mhu.edu

Mr. Kenn Kotara
Assistant Professor of Art
Chair, Art Department
Manager, Weizenblatt Gallery
Office: 303 Moore
Phone: (828) 689-1218
Email: kkotara@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6693
Education: B.F.A., Louisiana Tech University, 1990; M.F.A., Louisiana Tech University, 1993.
www.kotarastudio.com

Mr. Scott Lowrey
Associate Professor of Art
Office: 309 Moore
Phone: (828) 689-1455
Email: slowrey@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6693
Education: B.F.A., University of North Carolina at Asheville, 1986; M.F.A., Indiana University, 1994
http://lowreyart.com/

Shane Mickey
Assistant Professor of Art
Office: Moore 149
Phone: (828) 689-1224
Email: dmickey@mhu.edu
MFA-University of Tennessee, 2000; BFA-Frostburg State University, 1996
https://www.facebook.com/ShaneMickeyPotteryandShowroom/

Adjunct

Mr. Steven McBride
Office: 305 Moore
Phone: (828) 689-1594
Email: stmcbride@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6693
Education: B.S., Appalachian State University, 1989; A.A.S., Randolph Community College, 1991; M.F.A., New Hampshire Institute of Art, 2016.
www.stevenmcbride.com

Mr. Philip Murray
Assistant Professor of Art
Office: 305 Moore
Phone: (828) 689-1594
Email: pmurray@mhu.edu
Campus Box: 6693
Education: B.F.A., Rochester Institute of Technology, 1970; M.F.A., Rochester Institute of Technology, 1989